Stefan A. Freunberger

M.Sc. Vienna University of Technology, 2003

Ph.D. ETH Zürich, 2007

postdoc: University of St. Andrews, 2008 - 2012

PI: TU Graz, 2012 - 2020

ORCID, Researchgate, google scholar, publons

Stefan Freunberger obtained his PhD in Chemistry from ETH Zürich and was post doc at the University of St Andrews, working on many aspects of Li-O2 chemistry. He has been PI at TU Graz and is since 2020 Assistant Professor at IST Austria, with research interests embracing energy-storage materials, including alkaline-ion and metal-O2 and metal-S batteries, electrolytes, and in situ techniques. His research has been recognized by the Srinivasan Young Investigator Award of The Electrochemical Society, the invited visiting professorship La Chaire Total de la Fondation Balard, elected membership of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, the Tajima Prize 2018 of the International Society of Electrochemistry and an ERC Starting Grant.

Contact Info

Dr. Stefan A. Freunberger
Institute of Science and Technology Austria
Am Campus 1
3400 Graz, Austria
Tel.: +43 (0) 2243 9000 2169
E-Mail: stefan.freunberger(at)

Christian Prehal

M.Sc, Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria

Ph.D., Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria, 2017

Christian obtained his M.Sc. and Ph.D. degree in Materials Science from the Montanuniversität Leoben on in-situ SAXS to elucidate ion electrosorption in nanoporous carbons as used in supercapacitors. His research is focused on in-situ SAXS to study the reaction mechanism of conversion type batteries.

Aleksej Samojlov

M.Sc. Graz University of Technology, 2015

Aleksej obtained his M.Sc. in Chemistry from Graz University of Technology. His research is focused on porous electrodes for metal-O2 batteries and in-situ SAXS/WAXS.

Yann K. Petit

DUT Rennes, France

B.Sc. INP Phelma (Grenoble, France)

M.Sc. INP Phelma (Grenoble, France), KTH (Stockholm, Sweden) 2017

Yann obtained a double M.Sc. degree in Chemical Engineering and Electrochemistry and Process Engineering from the KTH Stockholm and INP Phelma Grenoble. He spent research stays at Strasbourg, Delft, and Eindhoven universities. His research is focused on the electrochemistry in organic mixed conductors and reaction mechanisms in metal-O2 batteries.

Eléonore Mourad – postdoc (now A.T.E.R. University of Bordeaux, France)

Daniel Mijailovic – Ph.D. (now University of Belgrade, Serbia)

Christian Leypold – Ph.D., postdoc

Alen Vizintin – postdoc (now National Institute of Chemistry, Ljubljana, Slovenia)

Nika Mahne – Ph.D. (now proionic)

Lukas Schafzahl – M.Sc. & Ph.D. (now austria micro systems)

Bettina Schafzahl – Ph.D. (now austria micro systems)

Anjana Raj – M.Sc. (now IISER Pune, India)

Anita Leitgeb – postdoc (now Mayer-Melnhof)

Sandra Grumm – M.Sc. (now austria micro systems)

Tobias Müller – M.Sc. (now austria micro systems)